LESSONS I LEARNT FROM MY DAD

I’ m an avid reader. I’ ve been known to read up to 3 books at a time. I cry over lost books. I have an extensive library and e-library which i continuously expand. Well, i recently discovered blogs and I’ve been immersed completely in them. So, in one of my particular favourites- http://chocolatechutzpah.wordpress.com, I just read an article written this immediate past Independence Day. It admonished all of us Nigerians to start doing our little bit to change our country instead of just complaining about it. No, it was not my first time hearing that but for some reason it spurred me to write this note. If you’re wondering about the title, I’m getting to that soon.

I’m the original Daddy’s Girl. I’m quite sure the phrase was coined especially for me. I’m the quintessential Daddy’s girl. I love my father, I adore my father.The first poem I EVER wrote was for him after he complained that fathers don’t get enough praise in Nigeria. He’s practically my bestest friend, Why? Probably because as a child, he was my steady supply of Coke and Gala, donuts and ice- cream, Maybe because he was the one who threw me up in the air as a kid. Maybe because he didn’t flog me as much as my mom?  Or maybe I was born that way. Everytime I look though the old albums in my family, even as a baby, I always seemed to be following my father somewhere or standing next to him at all times.

Now that I consider myself an adult, and especially because I have been told several times by several people that one day, I won’t be a daddy’s girl anymore, I constantly engage my dad in “adult” conversations. As a result, I noticed so many things about my father that guarantees that I will forever be a daddy’s girl:

1)   My father, no matter how angry he gets with them, never insults the Nigerian government. EVER. He might be disappointed with them but he never abuses them or curses them *hangs face in shame*. I once read this passage in the Bible that admonishes us as Christians to obey and pray for our religious leaders because it was God that put them in charge. I cant say that I have applied this principle properly.

2)  My father hates litter with a passion. As kids, after we’d finished our greasy, sticky chocolates (they only became greasy and sticky when we were done with them, notice?), he never let us throw them out of the window. We kept them in the car or held them until we got to a dustbin. This principle, I scrupulously apply. 🙂

3) My dad tries to always live within his means.

4) My dad always votes. Always. In sun or rain.

5) He always compliments for effort. Even if that effort is half- hearted and badly executed.

6) My father buys newspapers everyday and actually reads them.

7) My dad pays tax and obeys all the traffic rules, including driving reasonably.

Now, before you dismiss this post as just the ramblings of a closet possessor/ sufferer of the Electra complex, think through the above. In my own opinion, If Nigeria had enough people who voted, read newspapers and listened to the news and analysed it on their own, complimented the government for any good idea that they did have (though they be few and far between), implemented the sanitation rules in their own homes and with their own kids, paid their tax, respected the Nigerian government and did their best to live within the law and within their means and just generally respected themselves ( the video of T.W.O’s song- “Mogbomoya” comes to mind), and others, then Nigeria would become a country we all could be proud of. I have to go now. Have to watch CNN with my dad :).

Ladies and Gentlemen of the Web, My accurate laptop analog clock, My imaginary co- debaters and BreakRoom Stories, my current audience and the people inspiring my blog writing (for now) + all the visitors and site viewers- *blows kisses and bows*, I hope that I’ve been able to convince you and not to confuse you that this country deserves your respect, admiration and care.

P.S- I do NOT have Electra complex.

P.s of the original P.S- I LOVE AND ADORE MY MOTHER AS WELL.

P.S 2(NOT THE GAME!)- HOLD YOUR LITTER UNTIL YOU GET TO A DUSTBIN. People actually clean up after you. And those signs on your juiceboxes etc? THEY WERE NOT PUT THERE FOR FUN.

–  The Responsible Nigerian Girl

2 Comments Add yours

  1. i would like to thank you for the efforts you have made in writing this article. thanks for your blog, big help.

    1. hrh7 says:

      Thanks for reading. And for commenting.

Talk to me. Please?

