LETTER TO MY BIG SISTER

On quite a lot of my favourite blogs, there are written letters and poems to children yet unborn and wives and husbands yet unmet. I liked the idea, so I decided to write a letter to my big sister. This letter was a bit tricky to write because I didn’t know what tone to use. I decided to be both funny and serious. Here goes-

Dear Big Sis,

I’m angry with you. That is, when I’m not missing you. Google has taken your place as my chief advisor. Even on the most personal of issues. I wanted to talk to you when I discovered blood coming out of my legs, I wanted to talk to you when I had my first crush, I wanted your advice on how to get rid of the spots on my face that the attack of inflamed pus-filled skin blemishes left. But you weren’t here. And Google was. Fortunately for me. I wanted to use your makeup to practice. Maybe it would have made me take a greater interest in makeup. I wanted to wear your clothes. That’s what sisters do, right?
Did I ever tell you that once when I was little, I went to daddy and asked him for a big sister? And he just laughed. Then I went to Big Daddy (God, that is) and the next morning, while I was anxiously waiting for your arrival, our big brother explained why it was impossible for me to have a big sister?
Did I ever tell you that I attached myself to any big sister figure I could find who was willing to listen to me? I toddled off after them, listening with wide eyes to all their stories whether it was boring or amazingly funny.
Have I mentioned that when you didn’t come, I started praying to God to turn me into a boy? That I wrestled with, and won, all our brothers and their friends? Yes I was that good.
In your absence however, I grew up. Quite nicely too ;-). Reflecting, I also realize that Daddy and I might not be as close as we are if he had two girls, apart from mom, that is. I finally managed to unilaterally adopt 3 big sisters. I’ve taken their makeup, gotten lots of boy advice and other things.
I miss you. I missed you. At some point in the future, I will still miss you. I keep hearing people praise their big sisters and I wish you existed so I could do the same as well.
But you don’t exist. Not even in my dreams anymore. Which makes me a bit sad. And very happy. Now with the onset of maturity, I can clearly see that your presence was not needed that badly. I had mom. I had friends. If you had been around, you would only have prevented a couple of secondary school girls from being adoringly and persistently followed by a pint sized child. They’ll probably always remember what it felt like to be stalked. A valuable lesson these days, if you ask me :-).
I’m not angry with you. I don’t miss you. But I love you. And I always will.

For Ever,
Your loving little sister.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. rockcalvary says:

    I hereby apply for the position of your big sister. Well.. I might not have a make up set for you to borrow and practise with, but I sure can answer most of the questions you’ve been plaguing google with

    1. hrh7 says:

      Thank you so much. I’ll consider your application

  2. Mae Gregory says:

    Awwwwn…this is nice.. I would have said I know the feeling…but I don’t. I have 3 big sisters! :D… But I can totally imagine it!

    1. hrh7 says:

      3? Really? Say, are you looking to switch one of them? Cos i have 5 brothers to exchange. :-). Thanks for commenting. And i love your blog. Do another post from the toilet though.

  3. Mae Gregory says:

    LOL….5 brothers? Aren’t you lucky?.. Woulda traded with you but who will buy me new shoes? x_x but I do have two 3yr old nieces! Wanna babysit? :D..
    Lmao! I like ur blog too 😉

    1. hrh7 says:

      Thanks. :-). Ok, where, when and what time?

  4. I can relate. Lol. Cute piece. Thanks for sharing

    1. hrh7 says:

      Sorry I just replied. Thanks for coming to visit

  5. terriahefe says:

    Lmaooooo. I would ve applied but….

  6. Somiii says:

    Hey hrh. Great story. I am a big sister and have 3 little ones. Being a big sis has its highs and lows, but the scariest part is being responsible for 3 other people asides yourself,setting a good eg so you dont mislead them. But you know what? I love my mini mes and wouldnt trade them for anything.

    1. hrh7 says:

      That is so beautiful! I wish you continuous great luck with your “mini-mes”.
      Thanks for commenting.

  7. connectdd says:

    Love this! I always wanted a big sister, well at least starting in middle school when I had questions (and there was no Google yet) and would’ve loved some support and advice. You’re right about seeking out others for that role… looking back I did have some terrific role models, just not related. Thanks for the humorous, thoughtful post!

    1. hrh7 says:

      I hope you did eventually get the advice you needed? And I’m glad you got some terrific role models too.
      Thanks for the comment.

Talk to me. Please?

